[LProlog] Call for papers: International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects of Computing

Hongjun Zheng hzheng at semdesigns.com
Thu Jun 24 14:59:49 CDT 2004

                        CALL FOR CONTRIBUTION: ICTAC 2004
                        Guiyang, China 20 - 24 September 2004


The International Institute for Software Technology of the United Nations University 
(UNU-IIST) decides to found an International Colloquium on Theoretical Aspects of 
Computing (ICTAC). The aim of the colloquium is to bring together practitioners and 
researchers from academia, industry and government to present research results, and 
exchange experience, ideas, and solutions for their problems in theoretical aspects of 
computing. We believe that this will help the developing countries to strengthen their 
research, teaching and development in computer science and engineering, to improve the 
links between developing countries and developed countries, and to establish collaboration 
in research and education.

The technical program lasts five days including two days for tutorials and three days 
for a workshop. We plan to organize such a colloquium every 18 months jointly with a 
UNU-IIST training school in a developing country, and each time there will be a theme 
and a focus.  The school participants will also attend the technical program of the 
colloquium. A small registration fee will be charged to cover meals tutorial handouts 
and proceedings only. There will be also a limited amount of grant that participants, 
tutorial and workshop speakers from developing countries can apply. Application should 
be submitted together with their tutorial proposals or papers to the workshop.
The first ICTAC will be jointly organized by the Guizhou Academy of Sciences and UNU-IIST 
during 20-24 September 2004. 


ICTAC 2004 calls for tutorials in the areas of theoretical aspects of computing 
including automata, languages, software engineering and formal methods and solicits 
research papers for the workshop related to, but not limited to, the following 
principal topics:

* automata theory and formal languages
* principle and semantics of programming languages
* logics and their applications
* software architectures and their description languages
* formal techniques in MDA
* software specification,  refinement and verification
* model checking and theorem proving
*formal techniques in software testing
* models of object and component system
* coordination and feature interaction
* integration of formal and engineering methods
* service-oriented development
* document-driven development
* models of concurrency, security and mobility
* theory of parallel, distributed and internet-based (Grid) computing
* real-time and embedded systems
* type and category theory in computer science


Proposals should be approximately five pages and must include the following information: 
* contents including abstract and  syllabus/contents 
* duration of the tutorial (2 hours ¨C 6 hours) 
* intended audience including prerequisites 
* biography of presenter 
* any special requirements (e.g., software/hardware for tool   demo, software/hardware 
  requirements for participants) 

Please send proposals (in postscript or PDF format) via email directly to the Program 
Chair Zhiming Liu at  lzm at iist.unu.edu.
Submissions to the workshop must not have been published or be concurrently considered 
for publication elsewhere. All submissions will be judged on the basis of originality, 
contribution to the field, technical and presentation quality, and relevance to 
the workshop. The ICTAC 2004 Program Committee selects original technical papers for 
publication in the proceedings of the workshop and envisages   published the proceedings 
after the workshop by Springer in its Lecturer Notes in Computer Science series. 
Papers should be written in English and not exceed 15 pages in LNCS format: 
see. http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html for details. Further information 
and instructions about submissions can be found on the colloquium website 
http://www.iist.unu.edu/ICTAC2004. Authors are strongly encouraged to use this 
website to submit their papers in electronic form.


Submission deadline of papers:                       05 July 2004
Notification of acceptance:                          09 August 2004
Final version due:                                   30 August 2004
Submission deadline of tutorial proposal             21 June 2004
Notification of acceptance                           12 July 2004
Tutorials                                            20, 21 September 2004
Workshop                                             22 - 24 September 2004


Jos¨¦ Luiz Fiadeiro (University of Leicester, UK)
Jifeng He (UNU-IIST, Macao)
K. Rustan M. Leino (Microsoft Research, WA, USA)
Huimin Lin (Institute of Software, CAS, Beijing, China)

Program Committee Chairs
    Keijiro Araki (Kyushu University, Japan)
    Zhiming Liu (UNU/IIST, Macao SAR China)

Publicity Chairs
    Bernhard Aichernig (UNU/IIST, Macao)
    Dan Li (Academy of Sciences, Guizhou, China)

Finance Chair
   Danning Li (Academy of Sciences, Guizhou, China)

Organization Chair
   Danning Li (Academy of Sciences, Guizhou, China)

Advisory Committee
   Dines Bj?rner (Denmark), Manfred Broy (Germany), 
   Jose Luiz Fiadeiro (University of Leicester, UK),
   Jifeng He (UNU-IIST), 
   Mathai Joseph (India), 
   Shaoying Liu (Japan),  
   Zhiming Liu (UNU-IIST), 
   Jim Woodcock (UK)

Program Committee

  Luis S. Barbosa (University of Minho, Portugal)
  Gabriel Baum (National University of La Plata, Argentina)
  Hubert Baumeister (LMU, Munich, Germany)
  Jonathan Bowen (London South Bank University, UK)
  Cristian S. Calude (University of Auckland, New Zealand)
  Ana Cavalcanti (University of Kent, UK)
  Wei Ngan Chin (NUS, Singapore)
  Jim Davies (Oxford University, UK)
  Henning Dierks (University of Oldenburg, Germany)
  Jin Song Dong (National University, Singapore)
  Wan Fokkink (CWI, the Netherlands)
  Michael R. Hansen (DTU, Lyngby, Denmark)
  James Harland (RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia)
  Jozef Hooman (Embedded Systems Institute, Eindhoven, the Netherlands)
  Guoxing Huang (ECNU, Shanghai, China)
  Purush Iyer (North Carolina State University, USA)
  Ryszard Janicki (McMaster University, Ontario, Canada,)
  Michael Johnson( Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia)
  Fabrice Kordon (University of Paris VI, France)
  Maciej Koutny (University of Newcastle upon Tyne, UK)
  Kung-Kiu Lau (Manchester University, UK)
  Ant¨®nia Lopes (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  Jian Lu (Nanjing University, China)
  Andrea Maggiolo-Schettini (University of Pisa, Italy)
  Huaikou Miao (Shanghai University, China)
  Paniti Netinant (Bangkok University, Thailand)
  Paritosh Pandya (TIFR, Mumbai, India)
  Zongyan Qiu (Peking University, Beijing, China)
  Anders P. Ravn (Aalborg University, Denmark)
  Gianna Reggio (University of Genova, Italy)
  Riadh Robbana (LIP2/EPT, Tunisia)
  Augusto Sampaio (Federal Univ of Pernambuco, Recife, Brazil)
  Bernhard Schatz (TU Munchen, Germany)
  Irek Ulidowski (University of Leicester, UK)
  Ji Wang  (National Lab for Parallel and Distributed Processing, China)
  Wang Yi (Uppsala University, Swiden)
  Jian Zhang (Institute of Software, CAS, China)
  Mingyi Zhang (Academic of Sciences, Guizhou, China)
  Hongjun Zheng (Semantics Designs Inc, USA)

More information about the Lprolog mailing list